I want to be in that number!

Image

“Then Jesus went through the towns and villages, teaching as he made his way to Jerusalem.  He said to them, ‘Make every effort to enter through the narrow door, because many, I tell you, will try to enter and will not be able to. Once the owner of the house gets up and closes the door, you will stand outside knocking and pleading, ‘Sir, open the door for us.’ But he will answer, ‘I don’t know you or where you come from.’ Then you will say, ‘We ate and drank with you, and you taught in our streets.’ But he will reply, ‘I don’t know you or where you come from. Away from me, all you evildoers!’
There will be weeping there, and gnashing of teeth, when you see Abraham, Isaac and Jacob and all the prophets in the kingdom of God, but you yourselves thrown out. People will come from east and west and north and south, and will take their places at the feast in the kingdom of God. Indeed there are those who are last who will be first, and first who will be last.” (Luke 13:22-30)

I was listening to this passage today before coming to work this evening, and as it was being read, I really visualized in my mind what was happening. I imagined myself being locked out and Jesus was speaking through the door, saying He didn’t know me, and I imagined myself pleading with Him to no avail. I imagined what it would feel like to be locked outside. In fact, I remembered the times as a child, when my brothers used to lock me outside when I wanted to come in. I remembered how that even felt like at the time. It felt like they’d never let me in! Of course, Mum would always tell them to open the door for me and they would get into trouble! I was the youngest of three boys, and my two older brothers could be mean sometimes!

But could you imagine having the door shut on you forever, with no possible hope of ever being able to come in again? The truth is, that is exactly what is going to happen in the time of the end. Jesus said in this parable that many will try to enter in but will fail, having the door forever closed on them. Many!

Do you know that old song, “oh when the Saints go marching in?” It goes onto say, “I want to be in that number, oh when the saints go marching in!” There’s a Football club called the Saints here in Australia, whose theme song is taken from that one. I wonder if they even know what they are singing when they sing it…if they would win that is. (Every time a team wins, they get to sing their theme song at the end, so they wouldn’t sing it very often!)

But I want to be in that number when the Saints of God go marching in, through Heaven’s pearly gates! Do you? Jesus said it is a narrow path and there are few that find it – but oh, how it would be worth finding! I want to be in that number!

How do we be in that number, with the few that find the narrow path to life? There is only ONE way, and that way is through Jesus Christ! Jesus Himself said in John 14:6, “I am the way, the truth and the life; no man comes to the Father except through Me.”

Do you believe that? Well, it’s the truth, and you need to decide whether you will accept Jesus or reject Him – it is a decision that will affect the rest of your life and into eternity. It is not to be taken lightly whatsoever.

I don’t know about you, but I’m accepting Jesus as the only way to the Father – because I want to be with Him, and with all the saints, I want to be in that number…

God bless,

Rob 🙂

 

This entry was posted in Devotions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

