Treasure Hunt

“Though I am the least deserving of all people, He graciously gave me the privilege of telling the Gentiles about the endless treasures available to them in Christ.” (Ephesians 3:8 NLT)

As I was reading this 3rd chapter in Ephesians tonight, I had to stop at this verse and think about this statement!

First, Paul thinks he is the LEAST deserving of all people, and look how he was used by God? I’ve been away from God because of mainly how undeserving I’ve felt. Condemnation is ruining believers walk with God. It’s the biggest killer amongst Christians today, so it would seem. Everybody has sinned and fallen short of the glory of God (Romans 3:23) that’s why He sent Jesus to die for us. How I wish I dusted myself off and sought God in my greatest times of need, when I was full of guilt and shame. I couldn’t get passed the feelings of guilt and condemnation, and was so tired of the race, I simply gave up. Well, it’s time to get up again, it’s never too late to continue the race until you die. God is just waiting for you to come to Him in repentance, and He’s there with open arms, it’s really like that, it’s true.

When I read this, I realised one simple truth: all of us are undeserving, but if it didn’t stop Paul, why should it stop me? 

Second, He gave Paul a message (oh stop right there a minute!!! Once you get up and going again, and let the grace of God in, He will give you a message to shout out!!! Anyway…) about the endless treasures available to us.

I don’t know about you, but reading that stirred me up…I’m on a treasure hunt now, I want to discover what these endless treasures are that He has for me in Christ, and they can only be found in Him, no one and nothing else.

How do we find these treasures? Go back to the basics I suppose…His Word, prayer, worship, fellowship. We discover them alone with God, and together as believers. Let’s do it…

Imma a goin’ treasure hunting…aaaghrr! (lame I know, but was there to be said!).

This entry was posted in Devotions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

