Imitate me…?

“He that walketh with wise men shall be wise: but a companion of fools shall be destroyed.” (Prov 13:20 KJV)

“Now when they saw the boldness of Peter and John, and perceived that they were unlearned and ignorant men, they marvelled; and they took knowledge of them, that they had been with Jesus.” (Acts 4:13 KJV)

Over the last few days I was in Perth with my girlfriend, showing her another part of Australia while she is here. In that time I didn’t spend much time in prayer and the Word, we were so busy and by the end of each day I crashed. So because of this, I felt rather dry and empty inside by the end of the trip.

When I feel empty inside like this, I can become rather grumpy and a tad short with people. My mood changes depending how I feel inside. I don’t like it when I’m like that, neither do people around me. But it’s the way I’ve always been.

According to the scriptures above, I’m going to reflect the kind of company I keep. If I’m a person who spends time with Jesus, I’m gonna become like Him. The Priests and Leaders of the Temple saw the boldness of Peter and John and recognised they had been with Jesus….the world is going to know who you’re spending time with by the way you act. If you act like the devil, well, perhaps it’s time you re-evaluate who you spend your time with…

The people we have around us will influence us greatly, either for good or for bad. It’s a simple principle, but vital to our lives and walk with God.

As well as wise people around me, I want to spend time with Jesus Himself, I want His presence in my life to rub off on me so much so that sin is no longer an issue I have to struggle over, being that  when tempted, as we all are, the choice is easy because if I’m like Christ, what other choice is there but to do the right thing? I desire that His character rub off on me in everything I do, and that others around me become inspired by His presence in me and want to be like Christ also. Like Paul says, “Imitate me as I imitate Christ.” (1 Cor 11:1) That is a bold statement – can you and I say the same thing? We can if we are actually imitating Christ! Most of us can’t say that, because we simply don’t imitate Him. But we can if we spend time with Him and people who do imitate Him. I’ll leave you with that thought…

Have a nice day and God bless,

Rob 🙂

This entry was posted in Devotions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

